Barnes & Noble Presents You Are Here by David Nicholls as Their June 2024 National Book Club Selection

Press Release

 The bookseller invites readers to join the free virtual event  

on July 2nd at 3PM ET 

New York, NY – May 29, 2024– Barnes & Noble announces You Are Here as their June National Book Club pick and welcomes readers to join author David Nicholls at a free live virtual event on Tuesday, July 2nd at 3PM ET. The author will be in conversation with Lexie Smyth, Category Manager for Fiction at Barnes & Noble, and Marie Cummings-Hendry, Publisher Liaison, Barnes & Noble, to discuss the title as well as answer questions from audience members. Attendees must register via Eventbrite to access the livestream on Zoom. 

“I think it’s safe to say that readers fell in love with David Nicholls all over again with this spring’s adaptation of his beloved novel, One Day,” said Lexie Smyth, Category Manager for Fiction, Barnes & Noble. “I am so pleased to put forward David’s next novel, You Are Here, as the June 2024 Barnes & Noble Book Club Pick. This is an inspiring and heartwarming story of two people who have lost their way after life knocked them off course, and the unexpected journey that brings them back to each other — and back to themselves. I couldn’t help but delight in our story’s imperfect protagonists and the gorgeous English countryside. I know our readers will find much to talk about within this book, and its reminder that it is never too late to change your life.”

Nicholls returns with a modern love story between Marnie and Michael, who cross miles of new territory both emotionally and physically during their journey from the west to east coast of England. The novel illustrates the times we fumble in love rather than fall, while Nicholls’ mastery of banter and slow reveals of vulnerability deliver all that this story’s premise promises and more. You Are Here beautifully balances humor and pathos. Gentle, honest, moving and authentic — this is a can’t-miss read for fans of Dolly Alderton’s Good Material or Jojo Moyes’ Me Before You.

The Barnes & Noble Book Club selects a newly published work of fiction each month, chosen by their booksellers to provoke, engage and enthrall book lovers. The Barnes & Noble Exclusive Edition of You Are Here features green and silver foil accents on the cover, designed end papers, a reading group guide, and a letter from the author. “I’m thrilled to find out that You Are Here is a B&N Book Club pick,” said author David Nicholls. “It’s a big, funny, sad love story and I can’t wait for readers to meet Michael and Marnie.”

Leading up to the event, readers can share their thoughts and engage in conversation on social media using the hashtag #BNBookClub. During the livestream, readers are encouraged to participate in the discussion and submit questions to be answered throughout.

The enthusiasm and word-of-mouth recommendations of Barnes & Noble booksellers across the country have sparked ardent praise from readers nationwide, turning great novels into bestsellers. Previous Barnes & Noble Book Club selections have included: Tom Lake by Ann Patchett, The Paper Palace by Miranda Cowley Heller, The Night Ship by Jess Kidd, The Nickel Boys by Colson Whitehead, The Testaments by Margaret Atwood, The Vanishing Half by Brit Bennett, One Italian Summer by Rebecca Serle, Sea of Tranquility by Emily St. John Mandel, Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow by Gabrielle Zevin and The Cloisters by Katy Hays.    

All Contacts

Shannon DeVito

Senior Director, Book Strategy & Customer Experience

Barnes & Noble, Inc.

About Barnes & Noble

Barnes & Noble, Inc. is the largest retail bookseller in the United States. The Company has more than 600 bookstores across the United States, as well as its online bookstore at bn.com, the Nook Digital business which offers both e-books and an audio book subscriptions service, the SparkNotes educational service, stationery and gift retailer Paper Source, and the publisher Union Square & Co. General information on Barnes & Noble, Inc. can be found on the Company's website at www.bn.com.